There were only two other guys staying in the same dorm as me and their story was insane. They’re from a city north of Beijing and they’re riding their bicycles all the way down into Thailand than all the way back up into turkey before flying home. They’re predicting this will take them about 6 months. Hearing their story was also interesting as they gave me a small insight as what life is like inside china. They mentioned it was still very much a communist one party state and their travelling is very restricted. They were amazed to hear that for me to go to Europe I just hop on a plane and show up at their front door, meanwhile they have to go through a long and arduous approval process. After grabbing a bite to eat together we said our farewells, they were biking up to Siem Reap while I (feeling way less ambitious) took a bus.

20131019-043255.jpg

The bus ride itself was an adventure. The pavement is worst than in Saskatchewan and there are scooters, wagons and other random vehicles that our speeding bus would have to pass. Also, there would be the random mound of dirt from a construction sight that would be spilling onto the road so all the traffic would have to drive into the shoulder to get around it.

Once I arrived I’m Siem Reap I grabbed a tuk tuk and headed to my hotel. There’s a market outside my hotel where I ate some mystery soup. It looked like one of those mystery soups my grandmother makes where your never quite too sure what’s in it.

20131019-043851.jpg

Tomorrow’s the big temple day and I have to be up early to see the sunrise over Angkor Wat.