After waking up, I took a stroll down the river bank, hitting up a sub cart on the way for some breakfast. One thing different I’ve noticed is that all the street food comes in plastic bags. Most of the time it serves as a wrapper with handles. Even the drinks come in bags, sometimes with the drink poured into the bag with a straw in it with no cup (reminds me of that Canucks joke; Starbucks is coming out with a new drink called the Vancouver Canucks, comes with no cup). I have a few theories on this. One, it’s easier to carry a plastic bag on a scooter than it is a styrofoam container and second, styrofoam hasn’t quite made it over here yet.

20131020-212121.jpg

I got picked up by the shuttle and taken to the bus station. I didn’t get the fancy bus full of westerners this time and I regret it. This bus was full of locals and we stopped at every single little town on the way turning a 5 hour drive into a 7 hour one. Once I got into Phnom Penh I has to essentially direct my tuk tuk driver to my hostel (of course they say they know where they’re going even if they don’t). I finally showed up at my hostel and went out to find some dinner. I ate at a street cart that was barbecuing all sorts of seafood. I went with the squid and crab.

After dinner I could finally settle down and plan out the next couple days in Kuala Lumpur with my iPad and a cold beer.