I ran into a bunch of people downstairs in my hostel who were planning to do the same things I was so we decided to join forces. After breakfast we headed into Chinatown to grab a quick bite to eat before hopping the train. The Chinatown in KL is huge. It’s like one big market selling everything from cure all herbs to fakes puma shoes with everything in between. The streets are crammed full with with stalls and food counters.

20131022-173652.jpg

After grabbing a quick bite to eat we jumped on the train and headed to the Batu caves. After climbing the 200+ stairs (dodging monkeys as we went) to get to the mouth of the cave, we followed it in to the end where there was a small, anti climatic Buddhist shrine. Slightly disappointing. The coolest thing was probably the giant golden statue outside the entrance.

20131022-174111.jpg

When we returned, we hit up Chinatown again for some lunch delights. Although many of the food stands come out at night, we found a gem of a place to sit down and eat.

My companions were feeling tired so I decided to head out on my own to see Merdeka square. It was built to commemorate Malaysia’s independence. I also found one of the I-heart signs.

20131022-174437.jpg

Tonight, myself and a couple of the guys I met are going to a bar that overlooks downtown KL. Should be a great view although liquor prices are quite a bit more expensive here. I can’t imagine they’re going to be any better in Singapore though.