I woke up and went about deciding how I wanted to spend my next few days in Kuching. The thing to do around Kuching is to go see the (jungle) world heritage sites all around the city. I had a bit of a late start to the morning and limited me to which parks I could go to that day so I decided to take it easy and explore Kuching instead. This wasn’t such a bad idea as my legs were still pretty stiff which would have made trekking through dense Borneo jungle a challenge.

After working out my schedule, I took a walk down to Chinatown and found me a great noodle soup in a little hole in the wall of a restaurant. The staff was friendly and the food was good so I’ll probably be back there for a late night snack.

I then walked down the waterfront promenade. Like most of the waterfront promenades I’ve seen in SE Asia, the water was murky and there were food stands set up all along the pathway. It was nice to get out though and get a little bit of a feel to the city.

20131030-175536.jpg

After my walk, I headed down to the Top Spot food court (recommended by both my tour book and Alex) which is situated on the sixth floor of a parkade. The layout of the food court has all the restaurants lining the outside with tables placed on the inside. The main dishes are all fresh seafood (which looks to be the catch of the day) ranging from an assortment of fish to giant crayfish. I ordered the red snapper and some kind of green vegetable. That, combined with the sweet chilli sauce proved to be an awesome combo.

20131030-175455.jpg

After one last stroll through Chinatown I settled in for the night. The next day I’ll be getting up early to go see the Bako Nature Reserve.

A Backpacker’s Diary: I finally did laundry today. I had been holding off on it but after climbing Mount Kinabalu my bag started to smell like sweat and body odour. When the lady gave me my bag of clean laundry back I exclaimed “Yes! My laundry is done!” And took a big whiff of the bag. She laughed and mentioned it must had been awhile since my last load (which it had). I simply replied “No one should ever be this excited for clean underwear”.